One Of Those Weeks

I can’t even really describe, I just didn’t like it. I told a close friend of mine, “Man, I am in a funk and I don’t know what it is.” It looked a bit like this:

  • Harder to go to sleep, harder to wake up
  • Less emotionally motivated
  • Instead of “fanning the flame” spiritually I was begging for a spark
  • My relationships at home were more tense (because of me, not them)
  • Anxious and stressed
  • Simply wasn’t fully “present” when I was around others
  • Walked into a coffee shop this morning and two teens I know say, “You look tired.”

Sitting here, pondering my week I realize these are the weeks that often get overlooked. When things are amazing we have celebration, outward joy, etc. When things are really rough we give them their due attention: grappling with our faith and trying to apply the gospel to our situation.

But what do we do with the “meh” weeks? What does the Bible say to us? How does the gospel apply?

To be clear, this post isn’t really for you, it is for me. I opened the Bible this morning just looking for encouragement, an answer, something to hold onto. Something to stir my heart towards God and give me a direction to walk in accordance with the Spirit, not the flesh.

Colossians 1: 9-14

The Apostle Paul is praying for the church and here is his breakdown:

May these Christians,

  • Be filled with the knowledge of his will (this is a better guiding force than my emotions)
  • To walk in a manner worthy of the Lord (my bad week doesn’t give permission for my bad heart to sin licentiously and disobey what it means to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord)
  • Be strengthened with all power, according to God’s glorious might (endless, baby)
  • For endurance (a theme in the New Testament, because it isn’t usually easy)
  • Patience with joy (things don’t always come when we would like, but our joy is deeper than the week we have)

How can these things take effect in our hearts and lives in the midst of a bad week?

By remembering, recalling, and re-telling ourselves…

  • He has qualified us to share in the inheritance of the saints in light
  • He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.

My week may be bad, my heart may not be “into it,” but no matter the depth of either my sin, my melancholy, or simply my indifference… his grace runs deeper still. 

Leave a Reply

