My 10 Theology Book Recommendations for “Average Joe”

I love studying theology. It challenges my mind in a way that draws my heart towards Christ. While Seminary students want to dive into Institutes of the Christian Religion by John Calvin and one of my favorite books I have read is the 650+ page monster, The Meaning of the Pentateuch by John Sailhamer, those are not the books I recommend to “average Joe” that sits at my church weekly.

So, if you are the typical 50 hour work week man, the stay at home mom, the retired couple that wants to read good theology together, below are my 10 recommendations or “starting points” to get a good theological foundation. I believe if you chose to embark on working through one or all of these you will be drawn closer to Christ and get an even bigger, more beautiful picture of who God is.

  1. Knowing God by JI Packer
  2. According To Plan by Graeme Goldsworthy
  3. Bible Doctrine by Wayne Grudem
  4. Surprised by Hope by NT Wright
  5. Chosen For Life by Sam Storms
  6. Keep In Step With The Spirit by JI Packer
  7. Pleasures of God by John Piper
  8. Kingdom Come by Sam Storms
  9. Pierced For Our Transgressions by Jeffery, Sach, Ovey
  10. The Gospel by Ray Ortlund

Leave a Reply

