Life Changing Books: Following Jesus by NT Wright

UnknownFollowing Jesus by NT Wright is really an old, unimpressive book. I’m really not even recommending it. I remember it being good, but I think there are probably better ones out there that hit on the same topic. The purpose of this series isn’t to show the best books on different topics. It is to simply reveal the books that God has used very powerfully in my own life.

When I was in High School I had a Youth Pastor that I loved and am very grateful to him to this day. Our church was not a very theologically oriented church (understatement), but my Youth Pastor- Brad Klausman, was the first person that challenged me to think theologically and asked me tough questions.

Thankfully, he also handed me books to read, err, devour. This book was one of them. He once asked me, “How was Jesus both God and Man?” I said, “I don’t know, I guess he was like 50-50 of each.” He put “Following Jesus” in my hand and it rocked my world. It was the first time I had ever read “the basics” on who Jesus was and what he accomplished. It was a basic book on discipleship and what it means to follow Jesus, who is both Fully God and Fully Man. He opened my eyes to Jesus being the mediator between God and people and what it looks like to live out of the realities of what Jesus did for me. It was/is earth shattering and life-changing.

I’m incredibly grateful for this book. It became a type of guide to me on what it looked like to read the Bible, understand who Jesus is, and follow in his ways.

When people ask me who my favorite authors are I always include John Piper and N.T. Wright. I usually get strange looks for this, but God has simply used both very powerfully in my life. They both have multiple books that have made it into this series.

One thought on “Life Changing Books: Following Jesus by NT Wright

  1. I’m always finding both new & old books that speak a timely truth. Started reading “With Christ in the School of Prayer” by Andrew Murray written in 1885. Just the latest in a long series.
    First I’ve heard of the book by Wright. Sounds interesting. Thanks, I’ll have to find a copy.

Leave a Reply

