Why God Does Everything

Many of us know, love, and rejoice in what God does. We love the beautiful, creative power we see in how he created all things. We love that he is all knowing and all wise.  We love that God has chosen to save sinners despite anything we have done. We love that he is strong, just, and punishes evil. We love that he is merciful, gracious to those who take refuge in him. We love that he is love. We love that he chose to create, save, and sanctify us.

These are truths of the Bible that most Christians have no problem rejoicing in. We sing about such truths. We lean on them in hard times. We share how good these truths are with those we love. We find comfort, hope, joy, and peace in these glorious truths.

Yet, most of us struggle to grasp why he chose to do things. We know what he has done, but have never dug deeper to understand why he does what he does. Why did he create us? Why did he choose to save us? Why does he do the work of sanctifying us in order to make us more like his Son? Why does he lead us in paths of righteousness? Why does he blot out our transgressions?

Does he do these things because he sees something in us that leads him to be merciful? Are his works done in order to lift up humanity to where he wants it to be? Is there really a reason at all? Does he simply do these things because he can and there isnt real intent behind it all?

Scripture gives us an answer that is loud and clear. We don’t hear about it often enough and yet it will change everything for us. It ought to change how we view God, ourselves, and the world. It should make us see God as big as he is and as glorious as he is.

We have to answer the why. What is the purpose of the works of his hands? Why does he do all that he does?

The answer in Scripture is… for his name’s sake.

Psalm 23:3 He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.

Psalm 25:11 For Your name’s sake, O LORD, Pardon my iniquity, for it is great.

Psalm 79:9 Help us, O God of our salvation, For the glory of Your name; And deliver us, and provide atonement for our sins, For Your name’s sake!

Isaiah 43:6-7 Bring my sons from afar and my daughters from the end of the earth, every one who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory.

Isaiah 43:25 “ I, even I, am He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake; And I will not remember your sins.

Isaiah 48:10-11 Behold, I have refined you, but not as silver; I have tested you in the furnace of affliction. For My own sake, I will act; for how can My name be profaned? And My glory I will not give to another.

Ezekiel 20:44 Then you shall know that I am the LORD, when I have dealt with you for My name’s sake, not according to your wicked ways nor according to your corrupt doings, O house of Israel,” says the Lord GOD.’”

1 John 2:12 I write to you, little children, Because your sins are forgiven you for His name’s sake.

God does everything he does for his name’s sake. He does what he does for his glory. Only God is worthy of glory. He is worthy of all glory. It only makes sense that all of creation and the work of the creator is aimed to promote the glory of Creator. All of his handiwork is evidence of his glory.

We ought to take note. All that God does is for his name’s sake. All that we do ought to be to make God more famous. Our hearts desire should be to see God glorified, lifted up, and praised among all nations for who he is and what he has done.

Why do we live on mission? For his name’s sake. Why do we gather for corporate worship? For his name’s sake. We do we live in biblical community? For his name’s sake. Why do we serve the church? For his name’s sake. We do we aim to take the gospel to the unreached people of the world? For his name’s sake. 

Let us live for the sake of God’s name. May our hearts long to see God glorified, not ourselves. “Success” is living a life of faithfulness for the fame and glory of God.

Leave a Reply

