The Beginning

This is my first blog post, but this is not my first time blogging. Some of you know, some don’t, that I spent a few years blogging extensively in college. It was fun, until it wasn’t. I have now been out of blogging regularly for over 3 years. Well, I am back. This time for very different reasons (flesh vs. Spirit kind of thing). For the last few months I have felt promptings to get things rollin’, but I have been putting it off/fighting inner battles. That is done. So…

We-Rollin-290x160

I have chosen to hop back into the world of blogging for several reasons:

  • I enjoy it. I like to write. It helps me to learn and grow when I write and process things with other people. My primary purpose for this blog isn’t for me to set myself up as some type of pseudo-authority and tell all of you little people how things are. Instead of that useless endeavor I much prefer to share my thoughts with others in a way that is productive and upbuilding. Hopefully as I do that constructive, edifying conversation can be had.
  • Life is being lived online. Whether we like it or not, a whole lot of life is being lived online. People are talking, people are listening, and a lot of conversation is being had on the web. This is a great thing. It is also terrible thing. While there is definitely good conversation happenings, it is more of a rarity. A lot of people are raising their voices in order to hear themselves and to help stir up controversy. We need more voices that are voices for good. We need voices that strive to point one another up. We need voices that will think and articulate their thoughts with clarity and conviction. As I have already admitted once, things don’t always work out, but my hope is that this blog is used as a voice for good. 
  • I have a responsibility. This goes right along with #2. I believe, as a follower of Jesus (even more specifically, as a pastor), that I have a responsibility to engage our culture, in love, to point people towards things that are true, beautiful, and good. Right now, Christians in America are losing ground, quickly. I am not talking about declining church attendance. We are losing ground in the sense that Christians are learning and being shaped more by their culture than they are their Christ. The internet is not to blame, it is simply helping the already existing problem grow exponentially. To summarize, I have a responsibility to engage my culture in the way my culture lives- online. Therefore, I blog.
  • Facebook. Instead of blogging I now get in way to many long winded discussions on Facebook about a very wide range of things. I am probably driving my Facebook friends nuts. So, this will help me A) not drive my Facebook friends crazy B) gives me a much better forum to write and discuss.

4 thoughts on “The Beginning

Leave a Reply

